congratualtions to Kelly Courvisier, Susan Nicolson, and Jan Leighton photos with names on blue and white stripped background

We're excited to celebrate West & SouthEast REALTORS® of the Valley (WeSERV) members Kelly Courviser and Susan Nicolson. They are recipients of awards given by Arizona REALTORS® (AR) at the 2021 AR Leadership Conference in October. Arizona REALTORS® submitted Jan Leighton for REALTOR® for the Year given by the National Association of REALTORS®.

Community Outreach Award

Kelly Courvisier
Every year, Arizona REALTORS® honors a REALTOR® who gives unselfishly to improve their community through service. This year, AR awarded its Community Outreach Award to Kelly Courvisier. Kelly became a passionate advocate for Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF) after her then 9-year-old son, Cannon, was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in 2019.

Due to Cannon's diagnosis, Kelly and her family had to adapt to a completely different lifestyle. Kelly and Cannon decided to help families facing a similar life change and began doing what they could to raise money to find a cure.

Kelly supports Cannon in his role as a youth brand ambassador for JDRF. Together they go out of their way to recognize and visit community partners that contribute financial support to JDRF to thank them personally.

Thank you for your countless hours and dedication to helping families with young children diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes learn how to adapt to a new lifestyle and the thousands of dollars you raised for JDRF. You're making an extraordinary impact, not only in your community but for millions of people worldwide impacted by Type 1 Diabetes. Kelly and Cannon, we are very proud of you!

JDRF is leading the fight against Type 1 Diabetes by funding research, advocating for policies that accelerate access to new therapies, and providing a support network for millions of people worldwide impacted by Type 1 Diabetes. 

Tyler Strout Vision Award

Susan Nicolson
The Tyler Strout Vision Award recognizes an Arizona REALTOR® who best exemplifies the Arizona REALTORS® vision: The best prepared real estate practitioner with the highest standards. This recognition emphasizes quality service to the ultimate association customer: the buying and selling public. Members do not apply for this award. To be considered, members are recommended to the president of the state association for consideration, and honorees are selected annually by Arizona REALTORS® leadership.

This year, Arizona REALTORS® awarded Susan Nicolson with this honor. Susan started her real estate career in 2002 and earned her Brokers license in 2018. She has served on the Arizona REALTORS® Professional & Business Development and Legislative & Political Affairs committees in 2021 and the 2021 Arizona REALTOR® convention planning group. Susan is a member of the Master of Real Estate Society (MRES) and remains an active volunteer at all levels of the REALTOR® family, including the Women's Council of REALTORS® (WCR).

REALTOR® of the Year

Jan Leighton
The REALTOR® of the Year award recognizes a REALTOR® who demonstrates the REALTOR® Spirit and serves the real estate profession and their communities. The recipient may have notable business accomplishments and participate in activities at the state, local and/or national association levels. Arizona REALTORS® submitted Jan Leighton for the honor given by the National Association of REALTORS®.

Licensed since 1996, Jan joined and continues to work with a small independent Family Owned Real Estate office in the Northwest Valley of Peoria. She and her business partner have worked together since 1998.

Jan started volunteering with the Glendale Board of REALTORS® in the late 1990s and served on her first AAR committee in 2002. She was a part of the merger of Glendale-West Maricopa Association of  REALTORS® and Lake Pleasant Board of REALTORS® in 2005 – 2006 and served as WeMAR President in 2008. She is the 2021 President of Arizona REALTORS®.

Over the years, Jan served members as Chairperson of Risk Management, AAR Region 2 Regional Vice Present, and various committees at the AAR and NAR level. She received the 2012 George Watrous Association Leadership Award, the 2016 AAR Arthur G Crozier Distinguished Service Award, and has been a Major Investor in REALTORS® Political Action Committee (RPAC) since 2007 and a member of President's Circle of that Committee since 2014.

Jan currently serves as a NAR Federal Political Coordinator for Congresswoman Debbie Lesko of Arizona's 8th Congressional District, which oversees Glendale, Surprise, Sun City, Peoria, and parts of Western Phoenix. As the FPC, she is the personal conduit to the Congresswoman to represent "the face" of area real estate. She keeps the Congresswoman up to date on important issues facing private property rights and the real estate industry. "I stand for professionalism in Real Estate and respect for my fellow REALTORS®."

As an advocate for animal rescues, Jan and her husband, Henry, rescued two dogs and one three-legged cat.

Since 1956, the National Association of REALTORS® has been honoring the state REALTORS® of the Year. We look forward to the NAR REALTOR® Conference and the ceremony where Jan will receive the formal recognition.